The Dave Mason Band – Live Feelin’ Alright in Montclair, New Jersey

Spread the love

The legendary Dave Mason played to a capacity crowd on February 18, 2011 at Outpost in the Burbs in Montclair, New Jersey. The concert was held in an old stone and wood cathredal with ample atmosphere and sound. And, for 90 minutes on this night, Dave and the band converted the space into a masonic temple of meditative music that answered the prayers of the congregated.

Dave Mason – Live at the Oupost in the Burbs in 2011!

Dave Mason is an English guitarist, singer and songwriter. Dave started his career in the 60’s with the group Traffic and is well known for his song “Feelin’ Alright” that was penned for the band. The track has been covered by many other artists. Mason has worked with an impressive list of musicians such as The Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson and Jimi Hendrix. Mason played the acoustic guitar on Hendrix’s classic cover of Bob Dylan’s “All Along the Watchtower”. Dave would also record the song himself and his version is a fan favorite. Today, Mason continues to make music and he is seemilngly always on tour.

The church alter was packed with amps, instruments and gear as Dave, leading his six-piece band, took the Outpost stage. They opened with the familiar “Only You Know and I Know” which featured additional instrumentation and bold bass lines from Gerald Johnson. Throughout the night, Gerald was elastic in his movements and grooves.

“40,000 Headmen” blended effects, pace changes and precise guitar leads. Mason on electric was not a showy player but subtly crafted clean chord progressions with techniques that added rich textures and tones. “Look At You, Look At Me” was enticing with whammy work and echoes.

Mason also played acoustic on a number of songs including “Word In Changes” and “We Just Disagree”. Dave’s strumming was articulate allowing room for other sounds to float to the top of the mix. Keyboardist Anthony Patler crafted an array of sequences added layers to the music. Guitarist Johnne Sambataro was strong support as was Alvino Bennett on drums and Alex Drizos with his assortment of rhythm instruments.

Gerald Johnson was a commanding presence on bass.

Dave performed two songs from his most recent release 26 Letters – 12 Notes. “Good 2 U” had a blues feel and “Let Me Go” had more of a rock vibe. During the set Dave mentioned Work Vessels For Veterans (WVFW) — a non-profit organization that empowers returning vets in starting new businesses and improving marketable skills. Mason was auctioning a signed guitar to raise funds for WVFW.

“Shouldn’t Have Took More Than You Gave” was spirited with spunky rhythms and fluid fret work. It was followed by an animated “Feelin’ Allright” that had the crowd clapping, dancing and singing along. The encore included “Dear Mr. Fantasy” which Dave changed enough to make it his own – underscored with lavish leads and supported by Gerald’s bold bass lines. “All Along The Watchtower” was also unique with changes in vocals and guitar effects, thus leaving the New Jersey fans feelin’ all right!

Opening for Dave Mason was Carolann Solebello who is well-known for her work in the band Red Molly. Armed with an acoustic guitar Carolann played an engaging six song set. Solebello has a strong voice and is apt on the acoustic. Her songs were stories making them more memorable. “Papa’s Mandolin” was a piece written from her grandmother’s perspective about her grandfather. The song was sweet and sentimental. “Michigan” was about a girl thinking about moving to Michigan to drive away from her troubles. It featured varied vocalizations and string effects. Carolanne’s songs were well structured with spiritual elements melding with reflective refrains. Solebello ended her time with thanks to the attentive Outpost audience.

1. Only You Know and I Know
2. 40,000 Headmen
3. Look At You, Look At Me
4. World In Changes
5. We Just Disagree
6. Baby What You Want Me to Do
7. Good 2 U (NEW)
8. Let Me Go (NEW)
9. So High
10. Tell Me What You See
11. Shouldn’t Have Took More Than You Gave
12. Let It Go, Let It Flow
13. Feelin’ Alright
14. Dear Mr. Fantasy
15. All Along The Watchtower

Both Dave Mason – and opener CarolannSolebello – have new CDs out!

Related Links: For more information on THE DAVE MASON BAND and the other organizations mentioned please visit the following links — | |


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.